Soul’s Impressions Linger at Haworth

s3700096_158-1-1-1-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the things I love best about reading blogs is the ability to click links. It is like going on an intellectual treasure hunt.  Usually, the links to news stories send you to something which has recently appeared in a periodical or website. The power of Google, however, gives us news stories going back into the 19th century! What fun! 

One of my dreams is to finally visit the Bronte Parsonage at Haworth someday.  Naturally, I fantasize about wandering around by myself, like the characters in the Justine Picardie novel “Daphne,” I realize this is a fantastic delusion, I know the reality will be that my visit, when it occurs, will take place in a group of fellow pilgrims, looking at the hallowed dining room table in a carefully controlled tourist environment. 

 

You can view Charlotte's wedding clothes and, according to Ms. Picardie, a lock of Emily's hair! OOOO - lovely!
You can view Charlotte's wedding clothes and, according to Ms. Picardie, a lock of Emily's hair! OOOO - lovely!

 

So, imagine my delight when I found this story  written for the Telegraph of London by Justine Picardie about a seance of sort which was conducted at the Parsonage in 2006! OOOO! This is a delicious article about the souls of the Bronte’s lingering in their beloved home. Two psychics were invited to wander the parsonage and see if they could pick up any vibes. One, the article relates, was Henrietta Llewelyn Davies, the granddaughter of one of the Llewelyn Davies brothers – one of, “the Lost Boys upon whom JM Barrie based Peter Pan.” Like the Emily Dickinson properties the possibility of a ghostly presence sends shivers up the spine.

I can’t dismiss the the cosmic link between the Brontes and the Lost Boys, as the name Llewelyn Davies continues to pop up in my readings….it is lovely to be shivery.

One thought on “Soul’s Impressions Linger at Haworth

  1. I actually just saw a huge hank (had to be at least a dozen individual locks) of Sylvia Plath’s hair at Indiana University’s Lilly Library. It was much more beautiful than in photos of her — a reddish blondish brown. But yes, hair is so one of those things where you can still feel kind of a connection to the person who wore it.

Leave a comment